History and Personnel

Founded in 1991 in Dallas, Texas, the Liptonshire Chamber Players was a group made up of both professional and serious amateur instrumentalists who performed at many different venues throughout Dallas until the group disbanded in 2007. The ensemble originated with musicians who met to rekindle old friendships begun as students and teachers in the Lake Highlands High School band program of the 1970's. Regular Saturday night rehearsals were held on Liptonshire Drive, with an unconventional combination of instruments and the tongue-in-cheek name "i virtuosi di Liptonshire." A change of personnel in 1994 brought about the standard instrumentation of woodwind quintet with piano, and the more proper title "Liptonshire Chamber Players." All permutations of instrumental combinations derived from the ensemble were utilized in the group's programs. The Liptonshire Chamber Players were dedicated to what they believed to be the true spirit of chamber music - the camaraderie of friends making music together.

                       1992                                          1992-1994                                1994-2003  

                  Laura Kostur – flute                                 Pam Adams – flute                              Debby Johnson – flute
                  George Landis – clarinet                        George Landis – clarinet                    Woody Rowand - oboe 
                  Jim Irwin – French horn                          Jim Irwin – French horn                      George Landis – clarinet
                  Gordon Wetzel - bassoon                       Gordon Wetzel - bassoon                   Marjorie Kirsch - bassoon* 
                  Linda Irwin – piano                                   Linda Irwin – piano                                Jim Irwin – French horn
                                                                                                                      Linda Irwin – piano 


                   2003-2004                                  2005(Inactive)                              2006-2007

                  Debby Johnson – flute                                                                                               
Debby Johnson – flute
                  Woody Rowand - oboe                                                                                               
Woody Rowand - oboe
                  George Landis – clarinet                                                                                           
George Landis – clarinet
                  Marty Spake - bassoon                                                                                             
Marty Spake - bassoon
                  Jim Irwin – French horn*                                                                                           
Deborah Stephenson – French horn
                  Linda Irwin – piano                                                                                                      Linda Irwin – piano


             * retired: Marjorie Kirsch-2003, Jim Irwin-2004